February 3

Empty Cup Mind

Wisdom tales are something I have been learning about in Language Arts. Wisdom tales are different kinds of stories including Fables, Parables, Fairy Tales, Tall Tales, Legends, Myths and Sagas. My class got to do a project on this where we picked a story and drew a comic on it. To help with that, an artist came to our school and showed us how to use basic shapes to create good drawings. It was very helpful.

For my story I choose Empty Cup Mind. This story is about a student who went to an old man’s temple to gain knowledge. When he got there the man invited him in and asked if he wanted some tea. The student replied yes, but when the cup overflowed the student got super upset. The wise man told him to come back with an empty cup mind. For me, I think that the moral is to try to go into things with an open mind.

Then I had to draw the comic. To draw my comic I used an app called Sketchbook. Personally I prefer Paper (the app) if I am sketching something out. In all, I had a really fun time learning about wisdom tales and how to draw with basic shapes. For me though, the comic was the BEST! If you want to read my comic, scroll up or you can read it in chapter form down below.

A young student went to an old man’s temple so he could gain knowledge. “I’m going to be so smart!” He said excitedly as he walked in the temple. When the old man greeted him, he asked, “Would you like some tea?” The student replied, “Yes!” But as the old man was pouring the tea, he accidentally overflowed the cup. The student became very upset about it. “Watch where you’re pouring that!” He yelled. The old man took a deep breath and replied calmly, “Come back to me when you have an empty cup mind.” The student then left feeling upset that he didn’t learn anything.


Posted February 3, 2024 by 30venial in category Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*